Posted on

Sorting through judicial races

Sorting through judicial races


Redrawn lines, vacant seats on the bench

By the Evening Times News Staff



Of the dozen circuit court divisions within the 2nd Judicial District, Crittenden County voters will be called upon to decide on who will preside over four of those divisions when they head to the polls on Tuesday, March 3, for the preferential primary and nonpartisan judicial elections Of those, Division 6 is the only one of the 12 that is not up for election this year, making this an unprecedented number of circuit judge positions on the ballot for election.

Judge Tonya Alexander currently holds that seat.

The divisions that have opposition are Division 5, currently held by retiring Judge Ralph Wilson. Seeking that seat are: Tom Young of West Memphis and Skip Mooney, Jr. of Jonesboro.

In Division 7, Judge Barbara Halsy, the current judge, is also retiring. Those seekng that seat are: Mary Broadaway of Paragould and Scott Troutt of Jonesboro.

Division 8, which was held by retired Judge John Fogleman until his retirement on Jan.

1, 2020, and now held by Keith Chrestman, the candidates are: Kimberley Bibb of Paragould and Matthew Coe of West Memphis.

The newly-created Division 12, in which where there is currently no incumbent, the candidates are: Scott Ellington of Jonesboro and Scott Willhite of Jonesboro.

While there is no opposition in the remaining districts, voters will be called upon to vote for Judge Pam Honeycutt, Division 1; Judge Richard Lusby, Division 2; Judge Chris Thyer of Jonesboro, Division 3; Judge Cindy Thyer, Division 5; Judge Melissa Richardson, Division 9 and Judge Dan Ritchey, Division 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up