Posted on

Special Election for vacant council seat today

Special Election for vacant council seat today


Polls open from 7: 30 a. m.

to 7: 30 p. m. for West Memphis Ward 4 voters When then-city councilman Marco McClendon vacated his seat on the council at the first of the year to take office as the mayor of the city, it created a hole on the city council in Ward 4, Position 2. Now, a special election will be held today fill that vacancy, and voters will have a full slate of candidates from which to choose. Six candidates will be on the ballot in today’s special election. They are (in ballot position order):

• Jennifer McCoy

• Eric Parker

• Ida Long

• Arburt Robinson

• David Murray

• Arlet Brown Jeffries The winner will sit at the council representing West Memphis Ward 4, Position 2, for the remainder of what would have been McClendon’s term. The city’s five Position 2 seats will all be contested in November 2020, so whomever is ultimately elected will be up for re-election next year.

Polls will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., at all regular Ward 4 precincts. If you are unsure about where to vote, or if you reside in the West Memphis City Council Ward 4 area, con- tact the Crittenden County Clerk’s office at (870) 7394434. If no candidate succeeds in

securing a majority (51 percent) of the vote, a run-off between the top two candidates at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up